Pharaoh

Pharaoh

Jack Howard Series, Book 7

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Perfect for fans of Clive Cussler and Dan Brown, Pharaoh is a pulse-pounding new adventure starring intrepid marine archaeologist Jack Howard, on the trail of a shattering revelation about an ancient secret buried deep under the Egyptian pyramids.
 
1351 BC: Akhenaten the Sun-Pharaoh rules supreme in Egypt . . . until the day he casts off his crown and mysteriously disappears into the desert, his legacy seemingly swallowed up by the remote sands beneath the Great Pyramids of Giza.
 
AD 1884: A British soldier serving in the Sudan stumbles upon an incredible discovery—a submerged temple containing evidence of a terrifying religion whose god was fed by human sacrifice. The soldier is on a mission to reach General Gordon before Khartoum falls. But he hides a secret of his own.
 
Present day: Jack Howard and his team are excavating one of the most amazing underwater sites they have ever encountered, but dark forces are watching to see what they will find. Diving into the Nile, they enter a world three thousand years back in history, inhabited by a people who have sworn to guard the greatest secret of all time.

Praise for Pharaoh
 
“[David Gibbins’s] love of archaeology and of diving really brings these books to life. . . . Add to this . . . a true passion for history and a writing skill that has grown book by book. By the time we get to Pharaoh the series is a serious example of how this genre should be written; it does not get much better than this. . . . Gibbins makes the astounding seem more than plausible, he writes the history in such a way that the myth feels factual or at least highly plausible, and it’s more that just places and names; it’s a philosophical undertone to the extended plot, to the ethos of Jack Howard and his search for the facts and the truth. . . . History, mystery and myth all brought together to astound the reading senses . . . a true leader of his genre and his art.”Parmenion Books
 
“Utterly absorbing . . . When the adventure is as exciting as it is here, it is too good not to be allowed to speak for itself. . . . Put aside your assumptions of what a thriller should be and instead immerse yourself in one of the best historical adventures you’ll read this year.”For Winter Nights
 
Praise for David Gibbins
 
“What do you get if you cross Indiana Jones with Dan Brown? Answer: David Gibbins.”Daily Mirror (U.K.), on Atlantis
 
“An exciting mix of fact and fiction, with shades of Clive Cussler and Indiana Jones.”—York Evening Press, on Crusader Gold

Baker & Taylor
Jack Howard's team is excavating an underwater site in the Red Sea when they hear a tale of a lost labyrinth of canals, palaces, and tombs beneath Cairo, leading them into a world three thousand years back in history holding a great secret.

Publisher: New York : Random House Publishing Group, 2013
ISBN: 9780345534712
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top