Rip Robbie Silva

Rip Robbie Silva

A Novella

eBook - 2013
Rate this:
Perseus Publishing
A hard-hitting 25,000-word noir thriller in the tradition of Jim Thompson and James M Cain, R.I.P Robbie Silva is the latest work from Tony Black, Irvine Welsh's favourite British crime writer.

The story?

Jed Collins, fresh from jail, is struggling to go straight when he hooks up with wild child Gail. Before long Jed is back to blagging ? with Gail in tow.

But Jed has a past, and Gail has a secret about her gangster father that she wants to keep under wraps.

One week in the Scottish capital for Jed and Gail turns into a bloody rollercoaster ride that leads straight to Hell.

Praise for The Storm Without

"This is an elegiac noir for the memory of a place, delivered in a prose as bleakly beautiful as the setting."
? The Guardian

"This is the Great Scottish Novel, got it all and just a wee shade more... Classic."
? Ken Bruen, author of Headstone

"Highly entertaining, fast paced and tightly, almost sparingly, written."
? Undiscovered Scotland

"another masterclass in Tartan Noir"
? Daily Record

"a thrilling piece of crime writing"
? Scottish Field

"cracking stuff"
? You Would Say That, Wouldn't You?

Praise for Tony Black?

"Black's dialogue and atmosphere crackle with authenticity."
? The Times

"If you're a fan of Rankin, Mina or Welsh this is most certainly one for you."
? The Scotsman

"Tony Black's first novel hits the ground running, combining a sympathetic ear for the surreal dialogue of the dispossessed with a portrait of a city painted in the blackest humour."
? The Guardian

"The enigmatic Dury continues to be the punk rocker of the Scottish crime scene -- anarchic, rebellious and never afraid to shove his Doc Martens where they're not wanted."
? Daily Record

"Tony Black is my favourite British crime writer and Gus Dury the genre's most interesting protagonist. Like his previous books, Loss has the power, style and street swagger that makes most of his contemporaries a little bland by comparison."
? Irvine Welsh


Publisher: New York : Blasted Heath Ltd, 2013
ISBN: 9781908688255
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top