Island of A Thousand Mirrors

Island of A Thousand Mirrors

Downloadable Audiobook
Rate this:
Blackstone Audio Inc
A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposingsides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil WarBefore violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka andturned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells thestory of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could askfor. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings' lives areshaped by social hierarchies, their parents' ambitions, teenage love, and,subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace isshattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara's family escapes to Los Angeles.But Yasodhara's life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl's.Saraswathie is living in the active war zone of Sri Lankaand hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptlystamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled intothe very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid-a conflictthat, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways.In the tradition of Michael Ondatje's Anil's Ghost and Arundhati Roy's The God of Small Things, Islandof a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage,heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettablyauthentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, itoffers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficultmoment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things tocome.

Findaway World Llc

A stunning literary debut of two young women on opposing sides of the devastating Sri Lankan Civil War

Before violence tore apart the tapestry of Sri Lanka and turned its pristine beaches red, there were two families. Yasodhara tells the story of her own Sinhala family, rich in love, with everything they could ask for. As a child in idyllic Colombo, Yasodhara and her siblings’ lives are shaped by social hierarchies, their parents’ ambitions, teenage love, and, subtly, the differences between Tamil and Sinhala people; but the peace is shattered by the tragedies of war. Yasodhara’s family escapes to Los Angeles. But Yasodhara’s life has already become intertwined with a young Tamil girl’s.

Saraswathi is living in the active war zone of Sri Lanka and hopes to become a teacher. But her dreams for the future are abruptly stamped out when she is arrested by a group of Sinhala soldiers and pulled into the very heart of the conflict that she has tried so hard to avoid—a conflict that, eventually, will connect her and Yasodhara in unexpected ways.

In the tradition of Michael Ondatje’s Anil’s Ghost and Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, Island of a Thousand Mirrors is an emotionally resonant saga of cultural heritage, heartbreaking conflict, and deep family bonds. Narrated in two unforgettably authentic voices and spanning the entirety of the decades-long civil war, it offers an unparalleled portrait of a beautiful land during its most difficult moment by a spellbinding new literary talent who promises tremendous things to come.



Publisher: Colombo : Perera Hussein Pub. House
Copyright Date: ©2012
ISBN: 9781481508117
Branch Call Number: eAudiobook
Characteristics: 1 sound file : digital
audio file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top