Tracks

Tracks

eBook
Average Rating:
Rate this:
11
Open Road Media
The incredible true story of one woman’s solo adventure across the Australian outback, accompanied by her faithful dog and four unpredictable camels.

I arrived in the Alice at five a.m. with a dog, six dollars and a small suitcase full of inappropriate clothes. . . . There are some moments in life that are like pivots around which your existence turns.

For Robyn Davidson, one of these moments comes at age twenty-seven in Alice Springs, a dodgy town at the frontier of the vast Australian desert. Davidson is intent on walking the 1,700 miles of desolate landscape between Alice Springs and the Indian Ocean, a personal pilgrimage with her dog—and four camels. Tracks is the beautifully written, compelling true story of the author’s journey and the love/hate relationships she develops along the way: with the Red Centre of Australia; with aboriginal culture; with a handsome photographer; and especially with her lovable and cranky camels, Bub, Dookie, Goliath, and Zeleika.
 
Adapted into a critically acclaimed film starring Mia Wasikowska and Adam Driver, Tracks is an unforgettable story that proves that anything is possible. Perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.
 


Publisher: New York : Vintage Books
Copyright Date: ©1995
ISBN: 9781480452671
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
janemsilver
Apr 17, 2018

I read this book30-some years ago and recommended it to everyone I knew.
I still do - one of the most engrossing books I have read. Too bad this adventure may no longer be possible!

l
LexiLou2
Oct 13, 2017

Reading this story encouraged me to get back to writing my own novel about my life experiences, because the narrative was real: there were digressions and sudden switches from humor to more intense moments - reading this novel was like catching up with a friend after months apart.

m
mygirl1
Aug 06, 2016

Wonderful book, one of the best travel books I`ve read since Sunburned Country by Bill Bryson!

c
cmfrakes
Jul 18, 2016

I read this after enjoying the movie on Netflix of the same name. Of course, books are always better! This woman was brutally honest and she told a great story. I loved the descriptions of her relationships with the camels and her dog.

j
jannylegs
Jul 18, 2016

I love the rough and tumble spirit of this woman's story of her trek across the Outback, but was most charmed by the author's love and descriptions of her camels and her dog, Diggity.

r
rmack43
May 05, 2016

This is a refreshingly honest description of the author’s feelings and emotions as events unfolded. Most of us would not (or could not) sacrifice as much as she did to achieve her goal which at one point seemed totally out of reach.
Its a story of determination and adaptation to change, if not acceptance of that change. While necessarily sad at times, it is a motivating journey that makes you want to question your stagnant routine and break-out to seek a more adventurous path to follow.

j
JudithE
Nov 22, 2015

Fabulous, inspiring, honest, gripping, sad. I loved this book.

w
wyenotgo
Aug 03, 2015

What a terrific read! It combines so many of the elements that I find so engaging: A personal adventure or life story; a journey of self-realization; unique insights gained by traveling to a place few have experienced (a travelogue with no tiresome "touristy" stuff).
And to cap it all off, some of the most hilarious accounts of situations and characters that I've encountered in a long time!
Gritty, honest, insightful, passonate. Highly recommended!

k
kleokleopatra66
Jun 26, 2015

an amazing story of courage and perseverance. sometimes a bit too much emotional detail, but overall definately worth reading

e
erinsnest
May 07, 2015

May 1, 2015, I had watched the movie in Nov, and had the book on my 'to read' list for some time.....all of a sudden, there is a whole bunch of holds on it, and I had to speed read it. This was an easy read though, and I enjoyed it even more than the movie. (well of course!) I hope to check out some more of Robyn Davidson's books in the future. She is different!

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top