A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

A Dandy Gilver Mystery

eBook - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
""Highly recommended for fans of Downton Abbey." --G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author the Max Tudor mysteries In A Deadly Measure of Brimstone, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious-- and deadly--events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "-- Provided by publisher.
"Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the Borders town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2014.
Copyright Date: ©2013
ISBN: 9781466856790
Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource.
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
maipenrai
Dec 16, 2016

(The eighth book in the Dandy Gilver series)

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top