The Language of the Dead

The Language of the Dead

A World War II Mystery

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
As the shadow of World War II descends over Europe, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer behind the veil of a seemingly charming English village.
In a rural Hampshire village, things have remained fairly quiet despite the war. Then an elderly loner is brutally murdered, and the method of his killing bears the hallmarks of the traditional vanquishing of a witch. A young woman who is carrying the illegitimate child of a fighter pilot also is violently killed; a local drunkard's head is bashed in. Are the cases connected? As the Germans continue their relentless attack, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Crime, 2015
ISBN: 9781605987545
Branch Call Number: eBook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
ApollosRaven
Nov 08, 2018

First in the author's Inspector Lamb series, this historical mystery, set at the outbreak of WWII, mixes elements of the past (a local man is believed to be a witch), present (German bombers and British Spitfires are waging the Battle of Britain overhead), and future (the underlying crime is all-too often seen in today's headlines). Several plot lines are brought together seamlessly by the last chapters. Fans of mystery writer Charles Todd may enjoy this series also.

r
ready2read
Feb 24, 2017

This whodunnit is perfect for fans of "FOYLES WAR" or Maureen Jennings's TOM TYLER series. A reminder - as the German bombs rained down on England - that evil of a domestic nature still existed. This novel is followed by THE WAGES OF DESIRE (2016)

a
amatrixlibrorum
Jan 18, 2016

While I appreciated the historical detail, the mystery itself was not as strong as I would have liked. Lamb was good and his fellow policemen were well-drawn and much more realistic than the usual stock characters. I'd say that this was probably too realistic to be a cozy mystery, but the historical aspect softened its realism a good bit.

t
tardy1
Oct 03, 2015

I agree , trying too hard to be British but all in all an enjoyable if not memorable read. Author has potential.

n
neiltoy
Oct 02, 2015

If you are a fan of the British TV series Foyle's War you will really
enjoy this book. This American author was able to write an atomspheric compelling story
of the early days of WWII in
south England. I thought the character development well done. I hope Stephen Kelly turns this into a series.
A great read!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top