Song for A Whale

Song for A Whale

Book - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Twelve-year-old Iris and her grandmother, both deaf, drive from Texas to Alaska armed with Iris's plan to help Blue-55, a whale unable to communicate with other whales.
Publisher: New York : Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, [2019]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2019
ISBN: 9781524770235
152477023X
9781524770242
1524770248
Branch Call Number: jFIC KEL
Characteristics: 303 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
KAusd
Jan 14, 2020

I raised a deaf child and what I loved about this book is how right the author got what deaf children go through growing up trying to communicate with others and trying to find their "people" when they live around mostly hearing friends and family. I wish this story was around when my daughter was growing up, I think she would have loved it. The author's notes on deafness and sign language are accurate, too.

OPL_KrisC Oct 22, 2019

A sweet & inspiring story about a young deaf girl how is trying to help a whale that can not speak to other whales. For fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

s
ssteinheider
Dec 17, 2018

Children's fiction. Very sweet story of a deaf child and her need to feel a part of something. Great relationship with grandma. Took an interesting adventure with grandma to fulfill her need.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IndyPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top